Back To Non-Printable

See 100,000 BCE to 1 BCE
Click here for 1 CE/AD to 1000 CE
See 1000 CE to 1500 CE
See 1500 CE to 2000 CE

Below: 2000 CE to Present

July 2002 African Union is formed, making Africa a unified political federation for the first time in many centuries, with Addis Ababa as the capital city. Amara Essy and Thabo Mbeki become the first joint heads-of-state of African Union. The Union was envisioned as a sovereign state consisting of autonomous political entities with a progressive understanding of human and people's rights. Moreover, the African Union was formed as a defensive response to the persistent marginalization of African peoples by an indifferent and predatory international regime.
July 2003 Alpha Oumar Konare, a professor of African history, is elected Chair of the African Union Commission, during the AU Summit of Heads of State and Government at Maputo in Mozambique. Joaquim Chissano, president of Mazambique becomes Chair of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union.
Dec 2003 Pan African Parliament is ratified. Elections of parliamentary representatives begin (five for each constituent state of the African Union).     
March 18, 2004 Inaugural Session of African Parliament is held at Addis Abeba. The parliament elects Gertrude Ibengwe Mongella president. Mongella becomes the first female head-of-state of the unified Africa since the fall of the Kushite empire.